Skip to content

URGENT ALERT: Beer Bill to Allow Distributors to Sell Down to a Single Bottle of Beer To Go

URGENT ALERT: BEER BILL

October 21st, 2016

Beer Bill to Allow Distributors to Sell Down to a Single Bottle of Beer To Go

 

Chairman McIhinney of the Senate Law & Justice Committee is shopping a proposal to be included in a alcohol bill intended to make technical changes to Act 39 that would allow Distributors to sell down to a single bottle of beer to go. The proposal does not include an equal increase of ounces of beer to go for you to sell for off-premise consumption. This vote could happen on Monday in the Senate! This will cripple many bottle shop owners and members who have a healthy 6-pack business whose business model was developed around our license capabilities. This will de-value all of our licenses as it removes the 192-ounce carry-out privilege from it altogether. This is not the only negative language being proposed. The proposal also includes the ability for all PA breweries to be able to sell each others products for on-premise consumption. That means you can be at Straub and drink a Yuengling, Troegs, Victory, Penn, etc. We oppose this measure too but the package reform piece is seen as a more politically controversial issue.

We are working hard to prevent the passage of this October surprise through the Senate AND/OR House but it is IMPERATIVE that all members reach out to your Senator immediately and ask them to table this proposal. MBDA is calling their Senators to ask for support! There are many more of you! You have to out number their calls and ask to oppose!  USE THESE TALKING POINTS WHEN CONTACTING YOUR SENATOR: “As a business owner and employer in your district and with my association, the PA Licensed Beverage & Tavern Association, we oppose allowing Distributors to sell down to a single bottle of beer to go as it will de-value our licenses by removing a privilege from our license capabilities we paid for and give it freely to the wholesale tier created to sell wholesale packages. This will also cripple my take-out business, hurt my ability to offer gainful employment, and further hurt our tier of the industry.”

– Ask your Senator to vote no for this proposal if it moves. There are 3 days of session left in Harrisburg, the election is 3 weeks away, the proposal is one-sided and will only put small businesses and our 100,000 employees closer to closure.

– Distributors already received 12-pack sales from the PLCB in 2015. Package Reform has always been a two-sided issue and our tier has not seen any movement from the Legislature or the PLCB to balance that decision.

– If this is about customer convenience, then “Free the Beer” entirely and let R, H, E, and D license holders stock and sell in any quantity that they deem fit for their particular small business. Competition benefits the consumers.

The proposal is being positioned as the answer for Distributors because they did not receive wine sales to go in Act 39. Wine is not beer. There is a reason why Grocery Stores have purchased the majority of the 243 wine to go permits operating in the state. They can take the loss liter sale to direct consumer traffic as they have thousands of other home goods to sell to the same customer to make up for the loss. Our businesses cannot afford not to make a profit.

 

Senate Contact Info:CALL THEIR DISTRICT OFFICES TODAY AND TOMORROW, HARRISBURG OFFICES MONDAYS. SEND EMAILS TOO!

 

Member Capitol # District Office # Email Primary County
Guy Reschenthaler 717-787-5839 412-571-2169 greschenthaler@pasen.gov Allegheny
Randy Vulakovich 717-787-6538 412-487-6600 rvulakovich@pasen.gov Allegheny
Wayne Fontana 717-787-5300 412-344-2551 fontana@pasenate.com Allegheny
Jay Costa 717-787-7683 412-241-6690 costa@pasenate.com Allegheny
Jim Brewster 717-787-5580 412-380-2242 brewster@pasenate.com Allegheny
Elder Vogel 717-787-3076 724-774-0444 evogel@pasen.gov Beaver
Judith Schwank 717-787-8925 610-929-2151 senatorschwank@pasenate.com Berks
John Eichelberger 717-787-5490 814-695-8386 jeichelberger@pasen.gov Blair
Robert M. Tomlinson 717-787-5072 215-638-1784 rtomlinson@pasen.gov Bucks
Charles McIlhinney 717-787-7305 215-489-5000 cmcilhinney@pasen.gov Bucks
John Wozniak 717-787-5400 814-266-2277 wozniak@pasenate.com Cambria
Jake Corman 717-787-1377 814-355-0477 jcorman@pasen.gov Centre
Andrew Dinniman 717-787-5709 610-692-2112 andydinniman@pasenate.com Chester
John Gordner 717-787-8928 570-784-3464 jgordner@pasen.gov Columbia
Patricia Vance 717-787-8524 717-975-1985 vance@pasen.gov Cumberland
Rob Teplitz 717-787-6801 717-232-2937 senatorteplitz@pasenate.com Dauphin
Thomas Killion 717-787-4712 610-358-5183 tkillion@pasen.gov Delaware
Thomas McGarrigle 717-787-1350 610-853-4100 tmcgarrigle@pasen.gov Delaware
Sean Wiley 717-787-8927 814-453-2515 senatorwiley@pasenate.com Erie
Patrick Stefano 717-787-7175 724-626-1611 pstefano@pasen.gov Fayette
Richard Alloway 717-787-4651 717-264-6100 alloway@pasen.gov Franklin
Donald White 717-787-8724 724-357-0151 dwhite@pasen.gov Indiana
Joseph Scarnati 717-787-7084 814-265-2030 jscarnati@pasen.gov Jefferson
John Blake 717-787-6481 570-207-2881 jblake@pasenate.com Lackawanna
Lloyd Smucker 717-787-6535 717-397-1309 lsmucker@pasen.gov Lancaster
Ryan Aument 717-787-4420 717-627-0036 raument@pasen.gov Lancaster
Mike Folmer 717-787-5708 717-274-6735 mfolmer@pasen.gov Lebanon
Patrick Browne 717-787-1349 610-821-8468 pbrowne@pasen.gov Lehigh
John Yudichak 717-787-7105 570-740-2434 yudichak@pasenate.com Luzerne
Lisa Baker 717-787-7428 570-675-3931 lbaker@pasen.gov Luzerne
Gene Yaw 717-787-3280 570-322-6457 gyaw@pasen.gov Lycoming
Michele Brooks 717-787-1322 724-588-8911 mbrooks@pasen.gov Mercer
Mario Scavello 717-787-6123 570-620-4326 mscavello@pasen.gov Monroe
Arthur Haywood 717-787-1427 215-517-1434 senatorhaywood@pasenate.com Montgomery
Stewart Greenleaf 717-787-6599 215-657-7700 sgreenleaf@pasen.gov Montgomery
Daylin Leach 717-787-5544 610-768-4200 senatorleach@pasenate.com Montgomery
Bob Mensch 717-787-3110 215-541-2388 bmensch@pasen.gov Montgomery
John Rafferty 717-787-1398 610-831-8830 jrafferty@pasen.gov Montgomery
Lisa Boscola 717-787-4236 610-868-8667 boscola@pasenate.com Northampton
Lawrence Farnese 717-787-5662 215-952-3121 farnese@pasenate.com Philadelphia
Christine Tartaglione 717-787-1141 215-533-0440 tartaglione@pasenate.com Philadelphia
Shirley Kitchen 717-787-6735 215-227-6161 kitchen@pasenate.com Philadelphia
John Sabatina 717-787-9608 215-281-2539 jsabatina@pasenate.com Philadelphia
Vincent Hughes 717-787-7112 215-879-7777 hughes@pasenate.com Philadelphia
Anthony Hardy Williams 717-787-5970 215-492-2980 williams@pasenate.com Philadelphia
David Argall 717-787-2637 570-773-0891 dargall@pasen.gov Schuylkill
Scott Hutchinson 717-787-9684 814-677-6345 shutchinson@pasen.gov Venango
Camera Bartolotta 717-787-1463 724-746-3762 cbartolotta@pasen.gov Washington
Kim Ward 717-787-6063 724-600-7002 kward@pasen.gov Westmoreland
Scott Wagner 717-787-3817 717-846-2828 swagner@pasen.gov York
Published inNews